2020 did not turn out how any of us expected. Despite all the craziness and uncertainty, last year also created some new opportunities for personal growth and positive changes.

As NYC got shut down in March 2020, I started looking for new habits to reduce stress and take care of my physical and mental health.

While we can’t eliminate all stress from our lives, creating and maintaining healthy routines can give a sense of control. It can also improve well-being, decrease stress level and anxiety, and provide more energy to face life’s challenges.

I want to share ten life-changing habits I added to my life during 2020. While it was a challenging year, these new habits will have a permanent, positive impact on many aspects of my life long after the pandemic passes.

1. Growing sprouts on my kitchen counter

I’ve been growing sprouts since June 2020, and it has become a significant component of my daily nutrition.

Sprouts are seeds that have germinated and become very young plants. They are low in calories, but they are a rich source of nutrients, vitamins, and minerals. The sprouting process increases nutrient levels, making sprouts more abundant in protein, folate, magnesium, phosphorus, manganese, and vitamins C and K.

In addition to their nutritional value, sprouts may also offer various health benefits, including more comfortable digestion, improved blood sugar levels, and a lower risk of heart disease.

Sprouts are generally consumed raw (you can add them into a salad or sandwich), but you can also lightly cook them.

This sprouting process usually starts with soaking seeds for 6–10 hours in filtered water. The soaked seeds are then exposed to moisture for a couple of days. During this time, you need to rinse seeds several times a day to prevent mold. It generally takes between two and seven days for seeds to grow into sprouts.