While writing this, I am sitting in a small town constantly lending a thought to 2020’s death bed. I believe everyone in the world can resonate, and understandably so.

And while I am optimistic, hopeful, and desperate for 2021 to arrive, I must assert that the threat of COVID-19 still looms large. Sorry to burst your bubble, but that’s the bitter truth.

However, this doesn’t imply that all our hopes clung to 2021 must weaken. Instead, 2021 must be envisioned as the dawn of a New Normal after the cold nights.

When I say New Normal, I am reflecting upon the best practices in response to COVID-19 that will continue over to the next year for ensuring the swift progression of businesses.

To that end, I have put forth the best measures small businesses can look forward to for ensuring the sound mental health of the employees as they work from home culture continues.

1. Redesign the workplace

As a freelancer, I have observed that my surroundings significantly influence my concentration, motivation, and the resulting potential. What my brain notices apart from my laptop screen does contribute to how good I’m performing. 

Now, replace the word “freelancer” with “full-time,” and things become even more sophisticated. Believe me; working 8-9 hours a day on the computer is no piece of cake. Therefore, businesses must invest in helping the employees build a comfortable work desk.

The money that is usually spent on cab services and meals can be utilized for ergonomic accessories such as laptop stands, organizers, arm support, etc. Honestly, the cost for these is insignificant as compared to lunch and transport convenience.

2. Introduce Meditation Breaks

Meditation is, undoubtedly, a buzz word; however, practising meditation is certainly not compliant with the buzz. We think about doing it, but the evil of procrastination ruins everything.