I was reminded of something important today, to not compare myself to others.

I know this is something that has gone around a lot recently, and you might be saying, “I know this, I’ve heard it before.”

The problem is, we don’t always know that we are doing it.

As a writer, I find I’m often comparing my writing to others without even intending to. I read a particularly beautiful story, poem or blog post and I enjoy it, but at the same time I’m enjoying it, there’s this voice in my head saying, “Why can’t you write something as good as that too?”

It seems to occur with my freelance writing business as well. Some mornings while I’m drinking my tea and procrastinating work, I come across an article written by a freelance writer for Forbes or Huffington Post. Immediately start thinking about whether I could write a post like they did or why I haven’t yet or how quickly I need to start doing that.

Not only is this awkward comparison practice of mine exhausting and debilitating, it is also logically flawed. The flaw with this comparison is, I could be competing with someone who has spent thousands and thousands of hours working on freelance writing projects.

Have I spent thousands of hours writing?

I mean, most definitely, between deciding I was going to write the next Harry Potter book in fourth grade (wasn’t successful), being an English major and poetry minor in college, being a Content Intern, then Content Strategist, now Freelance Writer, I have done my fair share of writing.

But, have I spent thousands of hours writing blog posts and website content for businesses as a freelance writer?

No, and that makes me psych myself out.

I see freelance writer websites with countless writing samples and thousands of testimonials from different clients.

And, I psych myself out.