In the last year, I have succeeded in securing a new job twice. Both within three months, and miraculously, without direct experience in either. I certainly wouldn’t say I’m an expert, but I have been lucky enough to land on my feet twice and as a fellow keyboard-job-hunting-warrior, I know how exhausting the endless job search can be so I thought I’d share some of the key steps I took to find my new roles in the hopes they might help you too.

Step 1: Give yourself a break
Whether you are currently in a role (and hate it), or you’re unemployed (and broke), take it easy on yourself. In the moment, life can often feel weighted against us, but it’s really not. The perfect role will come your way when the time is right so try not to let stress get the better of you in the meantime. Be grateful for what you do have right now and the potential to create better in the future.

Step 2: Reflect
If I’ve learnt one thing in job hunting, it’s that being really, super-duper, crystal clear on what you are looking for, is essential. You might feel inclined to jump right on in there and start applying for everything and anything that feels remotely right but don’t. Taking a moment to reflect on where you have been to date and where you want to go in the future will reap huge dividends in the long run. In the worst instance, not doing this could result in you getting a new job, only to realise you hate that one too and the whole process starts again. You really don’t want to do that. Here are a few questions I ask myself:

What do I like most about my current/previous role?

What do I dislike most about my current/previous role?

What is most important to me in the new role?

What sort of culture am I looking for? (i.e. disruptive and fast-paced, places a high value on work-life balance)

What benefits are most important to me? (i.e. staff discount, work from home, extra holidays, etc)

Be sure to write this down somewhere safe so you can look back on it throughout the process.