One of the most important things women can do for their health is to exercise on a regular basis.  Heart disease is the leading cause of death for American women.  Many people know that obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure all contribute to early heart disease and to premature death, but they might not be aware that exercise helps reduce all these risk factors.  “You might be surprised to learn that keeping your heart healthy doesn’t really take a lot of time.  You can start with as little as ten minutes a day.  Small changes, such as standing up and moving more can make a big difference…” states Martha Grogan, MD, Cardiologist and Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic.  And there are many additional benefits of exercise on your health.  It can brighten your mood, strengthen your bones and muscles, increase your energy level, improve your skin, sleep and sex life, and decrease chronic pain.  It also helps sharpen our memory and thinking as we age. 

As a doctor, I have been aware of these benefits for a long time.  I was thrilled, therefore, when Hadassah launched Every Beat Counts in 2016. This program was designed to educate its members about heart disease and ways to prevent it.  This was rapidly followed by Every Bite Counts, a nutrition program, and Every Step Counts, a program to encourage regular walking.  I was already involved with our local Hadassah Chapter, Hadassah of Southern Nevada and was eager to help the chapter plan a walk-a-thon and health fair to encourage our local members to be more active, learn about their cardiac risk factors, and adopt healthier eating habits.  The online walking challenges also helped me to stick to my goals with the support of so many of my friends here in Las Vegas and throughout our Desert Mountain Region.