I spoke to a banker friend recently. It’s been a while since I quit the corporate world; I now work as a self-employed finance professional. When I asked my banker friend how her working life was, she seemed dissatisfied and discontent. She quickly added, “I have to feed my family and pay the bills!” It almost felt like she was justifying her decision.

How many times have we used reasons like this to justify staying in a job that doesn’t make our hearts sing?

Reasons such as these make absolute sense, but they can constrain us to a draining life. It makes us settle for less than we deserve.

I have been in a similar situation before. I played hide and seek by changing jobs. This tactic may have offered a ray of hope initially, but this didn’t help either-it only put the problem under the rug. I am more empathic to my friend because I know how choices like these can steal the joy out of your life and suck your energy.

So, how can you get out of the cycle and create a career you love?

1. Face fear head-on.

Most of us make choices out of fear. Our Reptilian brain loves to play it safe and hates to threaten the status quo. It gives safety a priority because of our instincts to keep ourselves alive. While those instincts are handy in life-threatening situations, changing our status quo is not that dangerous. Still, our Reptilian brain cannot comprehend it. We only see all the possible downfalls of giving up the job because the security it offers keeps us hostage. Who in their right mind would leave a job that provides a lot of perks?

The truth is that our valid reasons and excuses are just fear-talking. We are afraid to change, ruffle feathers, take a stand for ourselves, put ourselves first and make it about us.

2. Know the bigger picture.