At a political rally in Sacramento, Sarah Williams made a custom tee-shirt based around a simple belief—healthcare should be as affordable as clothing. Her belief has blossomed into apparel company Affordable Healthcare 123, dedicated to helping bring medical care to all Americans one shirt at a time. 

Where did the idea for your company come from?

The Idea for Affordable Healthcare 123 Tees came from my participation at a rally in Sacramento about the issue of public healthcare. I wanted to do something to help spread the word about the importance of affordable healthcare. Using my skills as a graphic designer, I made a t-shirt for myself that echoed the need for comprehensive and affordable healthcare. Pretty soon, whenever I wore it out, people would come up to me and ask where they could get a shirt like mine. That’s when I decided to start my company and donate a part of every sale to organizations that help people get access to healthcare when they’re unable to get it from anywhere else. 

What does your typical day look like and how do you make it productive? 

My typical day is comprised of getting up pretty early, around 5:30 a.m., and spending about 20 minutes meditating and another 20 minutes doing yoga. I believe in the benefits of deep breathing, stretching and clearing my mind in the morning time. These things help me to align myself with my goals for the day and not let anxieties and worries creep in. Afterward, I head to the office where I spend the first couple of hours letting my creative juices flow and design new shirts. Then, for the rest of the day, I spend time handling the business aspect of my company and make sure that everything is working cohesively. I work tirelessly at what I do because it is a cause very near and dear to my heart. My productivity springs from the deep interest I have in making sure that my company’s goals are met and that every order is fulfilled. 

How do you bring ideas to life?