What’s All The Hype Around Clubhouse?

Clubhouse is an audio streaming app. Every broadcast is live and not recorded (unless that changes in the future). It’s almost like a podcast but live and interactive with audience members. The best way to describe this is like attending a virtual conference, and the smaller rooms are like mini-conference breakout rooms.

If you have made your way in this exclusive, invite-only app you might be wondering, “okay, I’m in, now what?” No worries, I’ve got you covered with some insights from Clubhouse experts. But first, let’s go over the basics of Clubhouse a bit more.

Room Topics, Clubs & Hallway

Topics for rooms range on all different topics. From relationship and dating advice to religion and all things business. Since I’m an entrepreneur and business owner, I’m in a lot of “Clubs” (I started my own and already have over 5k members!) and see lots of business-related topics on my main feed. Clubhouse calls their feed the “hallway”. Below is a breakdown of the hallway, swiping left to see who’s online (out of who you follow), and a breakdown of a live room.

Learn The Clubhouse Lingo

RESET THE ROOM

Periodically throughout the term of the room, moderators will say “let’s reset the room”. Bringing it back to the main topic and the reason why they started the room, since there are quite a few people that join throughout the period that the room is live.

REFRESH THE ROOM (OR “PTR” PULL TO REFRESH)

You may hear the moderators prompting you to refresh the room. The way you refresh the current room you’re in is by swiping down on your screen. This refreshes everything, showing new moderators and speakers brought onto the stage.

CLUB HOST

You can join clubs (more details below) and host your room within a club. This allows you to reach more people. You do this by clicking the calendar icon and attaching a club host to your scheduled room.

PING