Working with thought leaders on shaping their speaking platform is an incredible privilege. One of my speakers, Dr. Susan Nicholas, is choosing to live a conscious life. In this candid conversation, Dr. Nicholas shares why she walked away from being a Fellow at Stanford on the way to being a Cardio-Thoracic Surgeon in order to share with humanity her insights into how to tap into your inner knowing. 

Tricia: Susan, you are a cardio-thoracic surgeon, one of few women in this profession. What made you decide to go into this field?

Susan: From the age of 10 years old, I knew I wanted to become a doctor. It was at this age that I declared my purpose to myself and to my family. Thereafter, I studied very hard so that I could become a doctor. That said, a cardiothoracic surgeon was not something I dreamed of becoming until it actually happened. Early on, I thought I would practice primary care medicine, even tropical medicine around the world. My interest in cardiac surgery came during my internship in general surgery. During that year, I realized that I did not want to practice as a general surgeon, but it was heart surgery that I found to be most intriguing.

Tricia: What made you decide to leave this field?

Susan: In 2007, during my clinical fellowship in cardiothoracic surgery, I came to the realization that I was not on my rightful career path. Imagine that. Looking back, this was the time that my spiritual awakening began. In reality, it felt like a deep emptiness within me and a profound sadness that I had no idea how to remedy. It was during my clinical fellowship in heart surgery that I attempted to take my own life. I had worked incredibly hard to get there yet knew I had to change something in order to go on living. But I was unsure as to exactly what that something was. This was also the very first time that I heard my inner voice speak to me, which propelled me along an amazing journey of introspection and healing.